Guide Dog Foundation

Resources

Access Laws for Guide Dog Users: U.S.

Alabama 
Alaska 
Arkansas 
California 
Colorado 
Connecticut 
Delaware 
District of Columbia 
Florida 
Georgia 
Hawaii 
Idaho 
Illinois 

Indiana 
Iowa 
Kansas 
Kentucky 
Louisiana 
Maine 
Maryland 
Massachusetts 
Michigan 
Minnesota 
Mississippi 
Missouri 
Montana

Nebraska 
Nevada 
New Hampshire 
New Jersey 
New Mexico 
New York 
North Carolina 
North Dakota 
Ohio 
Oklahoma 
Oregon 
Pennsylvania 
Rhode Island

South Carolina 
South Dakota 
Tennessee 
Texas 
Utah 
Vermont 
Virginia 
Washington
West Virginia 
Wisconsin 
Wyoming


Georgia

Georgia Laws of 1991, Title 30, Chapter 4, Sections 30-4-1 through 30-4-3

Georgia statutory law guarantees a blind person the legal right to be accompanied by a specially trained dog guide in all public accommodations and on all common carriers. Also guaranteed by Georgia law is the legal right of a dog guide user to equal accommodation in all housing. No extra charge can be levied because of the dog guide's presence, but the dog guide user is liable for any damage to the premises that the dog might cause. Landlords are not required to modify the premises, nor are they responsible for maintaining a higher degree of care than that provided other tenants.

Dog guide users employed in vending stands have a legal right to have their dog with them, with the limitation that the dog cannot be within 25 feet of the food vended. (Sect. 30-4-1)

Common carriers include boats, airplanes, trains, buses, taxis, and any mode of transportation offered for public use. (Sect. 30-4-1)

Public accommodations include hotels, restaurants, stores, places of resort or amusement, and any other place to which the general public is invited. (Sect. 30-4-1)

Housing includes all property offered for rent, lease, or purchase, but does not include single family dwellings with no more than one room for rent. (Sect. 30-4-2)

Violation: Any person, firm, corporation or agent thereof who denies or interferes with the above enumerated rights is guilty of a misdemeanor and punishable by a fine not to exceed $100, or by imprisonment for not more than 10 days, or both. (Sect. 30-4-3)

Return to Top